NoPoWriMo – Day 2

And now for our optional prompt. There are many good poems based on myths. Lots of these use Greek or Roman myths. Consider Tennyson’s Ulysees or this more modern example by A.E. Stallings. But today I challenge you to write a poem based on a non-Greco-Roman myth. You could write a poem inspired by Norse mythology, or perhaps by one of these creatures from Japanese legend. Every time and place and culture has its myths and legends, so there’s plenty to choose from. Happy writing!

They be Zombies in my Town
written in the frenzied style of Frank O’Hara

They be walking around like crackheads
Limbs falling off
Face lookin’ a mess
Who be these peeps?

Zombies
Girlfriend, they be ugly

One of them was coming after me and I was like “OMG go away” and it was all like “uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh”, so I ducked into Wal Mart but that wasn’t wise because I couldn’t tell the difference between the real people and the zombies so I ran outside screaming like some girl at a Justin Bieber concert and there were more zombies and they were like “uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh” and then I saw a newspaper stand because this podunk town still has them and the headline read

ZOMBIES ATTACK!
RUN FOR YOUR LIFE

and then I remembered that you’re supposed to shoot them in the head but the closest gun that I knew of was across town at K-Mart even though Rosie O’Donnell said they’re bad and she got into that fight with Tom Selleck about it – argh –  I couldn’t remember if they got rid of guns because of her stupid ass but I decided to take me chances anyway

Me chances? What am I, fucking Irish now?

I started running and I heard a shot and I screamed, “Stop shooting, I’m not a zombie”, and the guy was all, “Prove it!” so I yelled, “Girlfriend (I say girlfriend because I’m all gay and shit) I just talked and zombies don’t talk, what are you stupid? which was kind of dumb because I called him stupid and he had a gun and I din’t have squat except for like 5 cents, but he didn’t shoot me so we joined forces

One of them bit me on the arm so now I’m like, “Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh” ps this really happened

Leave a Reply

