NaPoWriMo – Day 9

And now, our (optional) prompt. Take any random song play list (from your iPod, CO player, favorite radio station, Pandora or Spotify , etc.) and use the next five song titles on that randomized list in a poem.

I upped it to 25.

songlist

An iTunes missive

Dear Ricky,

This is where I came in; that beautiful summer day on Ocean View Drive
The day that Peggy got engaged and you mournfully said, “Now, I have no one to love”
Dearest Ricky, I only have eyes for you
There should be no reason why you don’t believe me.

I remember dancin’ the strand in the summer breeze
When a mushroom cloud loomed over all my only dreams
That one summer night when I said to myself
“He means the world to me”.

Oh true love, that’s why I’m coming home
and this time, I’m gonna stay
I want a boy for my birthday
and if I can’t have you…

Oh Ricky, now I remember
It won’t be long before I say, “Here comes the heartaches”.
When I ask myself
“Are you Dr. Jekyll or Mr. Hyde”?

It’s gonna take a lotta love to see this through.

Leave a Reply

