NaPoWriMo – Day 11

And now, our prompt (optional, as always).Poets have been writing about love and wine, wine and love, since . . . well, since the time of Anacreon, a Greek poet who was rather partial to that subject matter. Anacreon developed a particular meter for his tipsy, lovey-dovey verse, but Anacreontics in English generally do away with meter-based constraints. Anacreontics might be described as a sort of high-falutin’ drinking song. So today I challenge you to write about wine-and-love.

When I drink wine, I go full throttle
I drink the junk straight from the bottle
Some people say that I’m a sot
But I tell them, “Oh no I’m not”
I am not drunk you ignorant boor
I’m just not sober anymore

Leave a Reply

