Daily Prompt : Musical Marker

We all have songs that remind us of specific periods and events in our lives. Twenty years from now, which song will remind you of the summer of 2014?

I don’t really listen to a lot of current music. If I do, it’s alternative and indy. I’m sure you could say it about any time period, but to me, today’s music pretty much all sounds the same. Pop and Top 40, that is.

I really like, Lana Del Rey and Lorde. I wasn’t a big fan of Lorde at first, but her song Royals somehow became a song that I really liked. At first I didn’t get it, but one day I was like, “You know what, I really like that song”. Then I started listening to her other stuff and then I was, “Okay, I like her”.

I love Lana. Her stuff is mostly sadcore. I think it’s the vintage and retro aspect of her music that gets to me. The first song I heard by her was Video Games. I remember thinking, “That’s just an unusual song”. I like the melody and chord progression. It’s kind of unexpected. Haunting. Ethereal. All of her stuff. is like that. Like a dream.

I listen to a lot of shoegaze, dream pop, indy and alternative. Also, I listen to a lot of Jimi Hendrix and The Doors.

I make a lot of playlists for the 8tracks site.

I suppose that I will be reminded of 2014 by the music of Augustines, White Lies, Mojave 3, Memoryhouse, Tamaryn, Catherine Wheel, Lana Del Rey, and Lorde. I think I listen to their stuff the most. Aside from Hendrix, that is.

I listen to Songza a lot. It’s a streaming site, like Pandora. They have awesome playlists. If you haven’t experience Songza, you should try it.

West Coast – Lana Del Rey

Royals – Lorde

Baby’s Coming Home – Mojave 3

Kid Your on Your Own – Augustines

Big TV – White Lies

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/musical-marker/

One Reply to “Daily Prompt : Musical Marker”

Leave a Reply

