Daily Prompt : The Eighth Sin

Remember the seven cardinal sins? You’re given the serious task of adding a new one to the list — another trait or behavior you find particularly unacceptable, for whatever reason. What’s sin #8 for you? Why?

People and their stupid opinions.

I believe this. I believe that. I think we should do things this way. No, my way is the best. This is proven. This is the way to go. I know what I’m talking about (no, you probably don’t).

Sure, everybody has an opinion on something. A way of life. Certain beliefs. I seems like everybody thinks their way is the be all, end all way.
Also, just because you say you’re an expert really doesn’t mean anything. Do you know how many charlatans there are out there? Tons. Some of them are entire countries and governments.

I’m a skeptic. Always have been. Sure, I believe certain things, but I don’t go around screaming it at the top of my lungs and trying to drill it into everybody’s head. That’s just obnoxious. After a while people are going to think you’re a quack and just run away from you every time you are around.
I keep an open mind about stuff. And, if I don’t know something, I just don’t make up some stupid nonsense and say, “This is true because it feels like it’s true”.

As a society we hardly ever follow through on anything. Something happens. It’s on the news. People rant and rave with their opinion. Then a week later we totally forget about it.
Remember that gun control issue? Some little white kids got shot. All over the news. Gun control this. Gun control that. It was a big deal for like a week. Then, it went away. Nobody talked about it anymore. Something new came along. Repeat. Up in arms. Forget.
The things that we choose to focus on, or consider important is just so arbitrary. That’s how we do things.

People on my Facebook are always posting obnoxious crap. Their extremely right wing, or left wing opinion. I DON’T CARE! Shut up. And they don’t just do it occasionally. They do it every day. This country should do this. This country should do that. Like this if you agree. If you don’t agree then your a horrible person and should move out of the country. We don’t want you here.

It’s not that I’m la de dah about life. Okay, maybe a tad. But, these people who do everything is hyper-drive make me want to scream.

I do not care what you think about Obamacare.
I do not care what you think about illegal immigrants.
I do not care what you thing about a lot of stuff.

You are not a psychic. You do not know how shit is going to turn out either way. No matter what the so-called experts say. So-called experts are supposed to be running things and look how that’s turned out. Greed. Corruption. Subjugation. Repression. All that stuff.

So yeah, people’s obnoxious opinions. That’s my eighth sin.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-eighth-sin

2 Replies to “Daily Prompt : The Eighth Sin”

Leave a Reply

