Daily Prompt : One-Way Street

Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

I’m going to have to say past. I’m afraid that the current future hasn’t panned out the way that it said it would in my 5th grade science book. Sure, we have some cool gadgets and all that, but ever year just becomes more bleak. The earth is losing it’s soul. One big dystopic mess. I don’t see the future getting any better. I really don’t. You can only stay an optimist for so long. I’m not going to go too much into it. It would make me very unhappy.

I like the past because it was simpler. Well, on the surface. Sure, there were difficult times. But, when you look on the past you have a tendency to remember the happier times. Choosing the past would give me a chance to see my parents again; all of the friends and family who have died.

To be honest, I think the main reason I would go back is to beat up all of those kids who bullied me. To tell all of those people who called me fag or queer to kiss my ass. To tell my parents that, “Look, I’m going to turn out all right”. I want to be able to look at those past situations through the eyes of an adult who has had 40+ years of experience and tell that kid me to, “No, do it this way”. Not that it would really make any difference. The kid me is not going to listen to the adult me. That’s for sure.

I’d also like to go back and experience all of those things that I missed. All of the historical stuff. All of the music greats. Watch Coltrane live. See Jimi at Woodstock. Maybe get into Apollo 11 and allegedly go to the moon.

Anyway, that’s what I think I’d do. Go to the past.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/one-way-street/

Leave a Reply

