A New Crop of Reality

So, I watched So You Think You Can Dance – The Next Generation last night, and I swear it’s got to be one of the worst shows I have ever seen. I’m not kidding. It’s even worse than that awful American Juniors show from the early 2000s.

I really don’t know if I’ll be able to suffer through it.  Some of the kids are from the dance moms show. Little kids with talent is fine – in small doses. But, when there are a ton of them and they all have those obnoxious stage parents, it’s almost unbearable. I was able to tolerate the adult SYTYCD, but this seems like it’s just too much. I’m going to have to find another Monday night alternative. And NOT The Bachelorette. I abhor that crap, too.

I can pretty much deal with watching those competition reality shows. I’m cynical about it though. Those schmaltzy contestant back stories are just so hideous.

My mama died 2 hours ago, but I’m going to give the performance of my life. I just know that she’s looking down at me and smiling. sob sob. I want to make her proud.

News flash: Mama is probably on the autopsy table. She has more important things to do than worry about your little singing and dancing routine.

See what I mean…cynical. I can’t help it. It’s always the same.

My daddy died
I’m going blind
I’m deaf
We’re poor as dirt and had to hitchhike to the audition
I live in the woods in a rent.
I lisp and people laugh at me.
I don’t have any arms.

These are all real sob stories from those reality shows. They rarely win. On occasion they do, though. Or at least come in second or third.

Sure, I feel bad for the people. I mean, I got junk wrong with me too. But, I’m not going to go on tv and boo hoo about just so I can win some dumb show. Nobody remembers them in 6 months anyway. The build them up and tell them how wonderful they are – when most really aren’t – and then BAM!…6 months or less later, you’re a nobody again. It’s really quite cruel.

So tonight, America’s Got Talent starts again. I’m quite sure it will be more of the same. An average talent will be told – usually by Howie – that they are a star. The contestants really believe it when you tell them that, you know. Seriously, how many people who have been in the top 3 on that show really famous and have continued to make money at it for an extended amount of time? Very few. I can think of one. Terry Fator. There are probably a few more, but I sure don’t remember them.

Not that any of that should matter to me. If they want to go on tv and give it a shot, then more power to them. I just hate the sappy back stories.

Plus, no one is holding a gun to my head, making me watch the shows, so I guess that it’s all really on me. Being tortured by it, I mean.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

