Daily Prompt : Tart

Another out-of-left field word for the daily prompt. Tart. Hmmm…

When I was 14 I had a dream about a box of Pop Tarts. It’s strange how you can have thousands and thousands of dreams that you never remember, but there are a few throughout your life that you never forget. They are so vivid, like they just happened; even though they were decades ago.

I’ll never forget the Pop Tart dream. It was half real people and half cartoon. I dream like that sometimes. Like when I have the Scooby Doo dreams. The haunted house is real, but the people in the dreams are all cartoons. Except for the monsters, ghost, etc. They’re real. Well, not cartoons anyway.

stencilsThe Pop Tart dream was like that. Back in the 70s, there was a period of time that a rectangular, plastic stencil was included in boxes of Pop Tarts. It contained about 15 figures on it. I always got the yellow ones.

One night, I had a dream about them. In the dream I pulled the stencil out of the box. As I was looking at it, a cartoon Tony the Tiger walked up to me and bit my hand off. I woke up in a panic. So, Tony the Tiger has continued to creep me out for 4+ decades. Even if I watch an tv show that has Thurl Ravenscroft (Tony’s voice) talking, or singing, I get creeped out. That includes Disney’s haunted mansion. All because of a stupid dream that I have never forgotten.

So yeah, that’s my tart story.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/tart/

Leave a Reply

