Daily Prompt : Pungent

Don’t get me wrong, I like the Daily Prompts. But lately, it seems that someone is just picking words from an SAT vocabulary workbook.

Pungent, liminal, sated, elicit, ostentatious, aromatic

SAT words.

Sure, most of us know them all. But they’re so conspicuous and specific.

Discard the taste and smell aspect of ‘pungent’ and just go with the basic synonyms of the word; sardonic, trenchant, acrimonious. More SAT words.

Let’s take trenchant. I have never used that word in a sentence in my entire life. Orally, that it. In writing, yes. But I’m not going to be all, “OMG, she got to the heart of the matter and told that bitch the way it is. She’s so TRENCHANT”!

Originally, I was going to do a poem about pungent. So yeah, what rhymes with pungent? IDK, dungeon? Curmudgeon? Anything that ends with ent? Astringent? get bent? So yeah, no, I couldn’t come up with anything. I could go all Walt Whitman free verse, but no, I’m skipping the poem. It’s not like I’m any good at it anyway.

Not that you have to be. Anybody can be a poet. Just break up with somebody and let the heartfelt emotions flow.

She left
My heart splattered on the pavement
Mixed with the wet cement of urban renewal
Symbolic of the renewal in her life
Without me she was gentrified
And I…
Left with the memories of no electricity and eviction notices

So yeah, anybody can be a poet. Just go to Instagram if you don’t believe me.

So today’s prompt is pungent. What’s next? Abate, abash, banal?

Or how about my favorite SAT word; circumlocutory. Now there’s a DP word.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/pungent/

Leave a Reply

